Florida’s new $10 minimum wage poster is now available! Just in time too, because the largest minimum wage increase in Florida history is here. On September 30, 2021, Florida’s minimum wage will increase to $10 per hour. But that’s not the only thing that’s changing. In addition to making any necessary payroll adjustments, employers must also update their Florida minimum wage posters to reflect the new minimum wage.
Florida law requires employers to notify employees of their right to be paid no less than the minimum hourly wage and what they can do if their employer fails to do so. Employers can satisfy this notice requirement by posting the Department of Economic Opportunity’s “Notice to Employees – Minimum Wage in Florida.” But this notice can’t just be posted. It must be posted correctly.
- The poster must be posted prominently in a conspicuous and accessible place in each establishment where minimum wage employees are employed.
- The poster must be at least 8.5 inches by 11 inches and in a format easily seen by employees.
- The text in the poster must be of a conspicuous size.
- The text in the first line must be larger than the text of any other line.
- The text of the first sentence must be in bold type and larger than the text in the remaining lines.
Remember that $10 per hour is just the first minimum wage increase required by the constitutional amendment approved by Florida voters. It will increase by $1 annually until it reaches $15 per hour on September 30, 2026. The annual adjustments for inflation are scheduled to resume in 2027. Employers must update their minimum wage posters annually to remain compliant with Florida law.
To reduce the likelihood of costly mistakes, employers should provide wage and hour training to managers and supervisors. Employers should also carry Employment Practices Liability Insurance with limited coverage for wage and hour claims. Contact us to learn more about protecting your business with Employment Practices Liability Insurance.