When Florida enacted its own minimum wage in 2005, the minimum hourly wage went up $1. Despite going up every year since, this is still the largest single increase in Florida history…for now. On September 30, 2021, Florida’s minimum wage will go from $8.65 to $10, an increase of $1.35 per hour. In other words, Florida employers have less than six months to prepare for the largest minimum wage increase ever.
The upcoming increase is required by the $15 Minimum Wage Ballot Initiative (Amendment 2), which was approved by Florida voters in November 2020. Amendment 2 increases Florida’s minimum wage incrementally over a period of years until it reaches $15 per hour. The first (and largest) increase will occur September 30, 2021. It will then increase annually on September 30th per the following schedule.
- 2021 $10.00
- 2022 $11.00
- 2023 $12.00
- 2024 $13.00
- 2025 $14.00
- 2026 $15.00
- 2027 Annual adjustments for inflation resume.
As of September 30, 2021, a minimum wage employee working full-time will need to be paid an additional $54 per week. Depending on the workforce make-up, the resulting increase in payroll expense may be minimal for some and substantial for others. Employers should start planning now to avoid unintentional, unnecessary and costly wage and hour violations. These plans should extend beyond this year’s record-breaking increase. There will be five more increases under Amendment 2, each of which is large enough to tie the current record for largest single increase in Florida history.
To reduce the likelihood of costly mistakes, employers should provide wage and hour training to managers and supervisors. Employers should also carry Employment Practices Liability Insurance with limited coverage for wage and hour claims. Contact us to learn more about protecting your business with Employment Practices Liability Insurance.